What a two weeks it’s been….

Wow. So the past two weeks have absolutely flown by. And when i say flown, I mean absolutely hurtled. I feel like I’ve not had a minute to sit down, but that’s not me complaining, I’m loving every minute of it!

I can’t quite believe that it was only 14 days ago that our site went live! So much has happened since then… things have well and truly kicked off at the Halliday’s headquarters! I feel like I’ve never seen so many emails, am permanently tied to my computer (whilst getting distracted by Pinterest), have at least 2 meetings a day, as well as trying to find time to speak to the lovely brides that have been in touch! 2 darling little babies have been brought into the world by close friends and family, with another on it’s way in three weeks (and I can say that I’m absolutely revelling in my Auntie status!). A sad day saw the passing of the husband of a dear friend of mine… they had been married a mere 4 days before he passed into eternity at the hands of cancer.

I don’t have a particularly strong religion or belief. In fact, I’m not entirely sure I buy into religion, or how exactly I feel about it. Simon, however, was a practicing Baptist. I never knew he had such a strong faith…. but what a faith he had. Positive to the end, Simon saw life as a great adventure, wanting to leave behind a legacy of enjoyment, determination, and love. Last Thursday we had a celebration of his life, with everyone asked to wear orange or green. There was laughter, as well as tears, music, and photo’s, and people sharing beautiful, beautiful memories. What struck me was the sense of calm I felt, the influence that being in those surroundings had on me. His recently widowed wife played Saint-Sean’s beautiful “The Swan”, and I’ll never know how she had the strength to do it. She tells me that it was Simon’s determination and passion for life that left her with a sense of determination and focus. She’s a stronger woman than I, let me tell you. I guess what I’m trying to say is that it could have been a very different day, a very different time in our lives. For a day to be filled with so much laughter, joy, and fondness quite overwhelms me. Without sounding like I’ve got a bagful of cliche’s, it truly does put into perspective your life and that of those around you. And fills you with such a deep sense of pride at having known two such incredible people, and an absolute determination to make the most of what you have, and never take anything for granted. 

What a funny old world, hey?

 

And on that note, I leave you with this….

 

The Swan

 

Love,

Halliday’s

x

One thought on “What a two weeks it’s been….

  1. Pingback: The Great Midlands Fun Run, in memory of a wonderful man. « hallidaysvintage

Leave a Reply

