A trip to Worcester and some sugar craft!

So yesterday saw me and the boy set off on an early morning drive to set up our stall at the WAVE Worcester flea market. After a rather late night spent packing up our suitcases, Sunday morning came around far too early! Luckily, there’s nothing that can get me out of bed quite like the prospect of a flea market, even if I’m not intending on buying things!

 
So after a fairly straightforward drive, and a quick unpacking of our belongings, we were finally set up and ready to go!
 
Image
 
We had a dubiously slow start, having been accompanied by a torrential downpour for half an hour, but come 10.30 the sun was shining and the lovely customers flowing! 
 
After setting up, we were soon joined by a lovely couple who sat behind us selling hand-made jewellery. It didn’t take us long to get into the swing of things, and soon we were hearing their wedding, their trips to cambodia and swapping favourite flea-market locations! We soon discovered that the lovely Amy and Neil did lots of interesting things, one of which was a secret sugar-crafter by night! I’m not normally one to be totally wowed by craft-type things. Don’t get me wrong, I can appreciate them, but more often than not they’re just a bit too “crafty” for me, plus it’s not often that you see something a little bit different. But when Amy showed me some photo’s, I was totally blown away! Studying graphic design at university, Amy makes jewellery, does wedding photography with her husband, all working around her day job as a care worker! Creating these things “as a kind of hobby, I guess” she says, it was just something that took her fancy so she did a course in it. I can’t quite believe just how delicate they are, and quite how realistic they look! I am totally wowed by the work she does. I can’t imagine ever having the patience, steady hand, and skill required to make these little beauties, so to say I am envious is an understatement! What I really like about them though, is that they bring a whole new meaning to sugar craft for me. I’d always thought of sugar craft as something not particularly inspiring, lots of flowers that look like they’re made out of, well, sugar. The delicate ways in which Amy creates the flowers, blossom and berries are a real work of art. 
 
Here are a few of my favourites…
 
ImageImageImageImage
 
You can see Amy here at the Handmade and Vintage Wedding Fair at Wolverhampton Art Gallery on Saturday 31st March. She’s definitely one to watch, and I can’t wait to see more of her work!
 
Love,
 
Halliday’s
 
x

 
 
Leave a Reply

